We’ve heard it time and again over the last 3.5 years of Larry Hogan’s time as Maryland’s governor: Maryland is open for business. Hogan’s chief campaign promise was to boost the job economy of the state for big box retailers all the way down to local mom-and-pop shops. Hogan wanted to create an environment for businesses to grow and succeed. And his efforts are paying off. Marylanders are working harder now; unemployment is just 4% as of June 2019 (down from 6% at the start of 2015). But with all that hard work comes the expectation of a fair wage. Maryland has a thorough guide to wage payment and employment standards, but it’s a lot to digest. We just wanted to know: what sort of standards are in place to make sure our hard-working Marylanders are being fairly compensated for their effort?
Minimum Wage and Overtime in Maryland
In accordance with the Maryland Minimum Wage and Overtime Law, minimum wage in Maryland is $10.10 an hour until 12/31/19; it goes up to $11.00 an hour on January 1, 2020. For tipped employees, their hourly rate plus earned tips must equal out to at least the state minimum wage rate. Most employees in the state must be compensated 1.5 times their usual rate for every hour worked over forty in a week.
There are, as with anything, exceptions to these rules. To name a few: employees under 16 and over 62 years-of-age, direct relatives of the employer, administrative and executive employees, employees who work less than the full-time rate (forty hours per week), and more. For a full list of exemptions, you can check out the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation’s website.
Maryland has set the standards and regulations for pay schedules in the state. According to state law, employers are required to pay their employees every two weeks or twice per month. Administrative and executive employees have the option to negotiate fewer pay days with their employer. Employers are required to pay their employees either in cash, by check, direct deposit, debit card or by depositing to a card account. Employees are required to consent to any and all applicable banking fees associated with direct deposit, debit and card account payments.
Employee Compensation Rights
There are provisions in place to protect entitled employees in the event their employer does not compensate them accordingly. Under Maryland law, an employee can pursue an employer if they are paid less than the agreed upon wage or state-required wage. The employer may be liable to cover not only the lost wages, but an additional cost for damages and attorney fees.
If you feel you have not been fairly compensated by your employer or if you are being sued by an employee over lost or unpaid wages, contact the Employment Law attorneys at Ferrante, Dill & Hisle LLC today! Our Employment Law attorneys have experience working on both sides of the fence- giving us a unique perspective when it comes to employment law cases. Give us a call today at (410) 535-6100 or send us an email at email@example.com.
This blog post that is published by Ferrante & Dill is only available for informational purposes and should not be considered legal advice. By viewing these blog posts, the reader understands there is no attorney-client relationship between the blog publisher and the reader. The blog post should not be used as a substitute for legal advice from a licensed professional attorney, and we recommend readers to consult their own legal counsel on any specific legal questions concerning a specific situation.